As the name suggests, chemical testing is the process of checking the chemical composition of a product, indicating the compliance of the various chemicals used in a particular product. Since there are regulatory standards set for chemical usage, this testing is mandatory for every manufacturer.

Below are the different types of chemical testing that you should know about:

Composition Analysis

It is a qualitative and quantitative analysis of the various chemicals used in a product. This method identifies impurities and alloys, verifies standard specification of products followed by evaluation of raw materials.

Trace contamination detection

Often times products can get contaminated with impurities, foreign particles, and other residues during their production. This is when chemical testing is done to identify this contamination so that it can be eliminated timely and made compliant with the set regulations.

Metal testing

A product is made up of various metals that can undergo corrosion and difference in strength over time. The metal testing method directly tests the composition and strength of the metals and alloys used in a product, wherein the purity and endurance of the product are tested to make them worth using.

Material testing

Various materials like plastic, polymers, ceramics, and others are used in the manufacturing of products, which can affect their overall quality. With this test, products are evaluated for their strength, durability, composition, and quality so that they reach the target market in their best form.

Regulatory testing

This is by far the most important step whereby the products are tested for usage or restricted chemicals like lead, phthalates, and other banned substances. The testing is done to regulate health and safety conditions for humans and the environment.

If any restricted items are found, the product is discontinued and the company faces serious charges for breaching safety guidelines.

Apart from various tests, manufacturing companies also need to follow certain standards for their products, which ensure that the product is safe and can be continued in the market.


ISO stands for International Standard Organization. It is a community of 63 countries that maintains the regulated standard for products. All manufactured goods need to comply with the ISO 9002 standard to continue in the market.

RoHS compliance

RoHS stands for Restriction of Hazardous Substances. It ensures that products do not use the nine types of restricted elements or substances to protect the environment and human health. Lead, phthalates, biphenyls, and hexavalent chromium are some of those restricted substances.

Likewise, there are many other standards like the CPSIA compliance, REACH, PFAS etc., that need to be followed.

With Enviropass chemical testing, you can be rest assured about your product’s compliance.